Dance, Sing and Drink Wine

Daily Necessities of Life – and Coffee Helps Too

New Year, New Me ……….. Whatever! I’m Blogging!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Everyone who says setting up a blog is a snap is an idiot. Or a liar. Or just just looking to impress you.

FullSizeRender

I suppose this glass is my reward to myself for finally pulling it together and getting this flippin’ blog started!

It’s just not true.

Ok, maybe it is easy for some. But NOT FOR ME!!!!!!!  Mostly because I am two things: incredibly indecisive and a human computer virus – computers are hard!

After thinking about it and listening to friends encourage me to start a blog, I actually registered this blog name on WordPress in April of 2014. That’s when the panic set it.

First, it was about the blog name. I spent the next eight months mulling over three or four variations and polling friends in person and on social media. The funny thing is, I chose the one I originally started with and ignored what they said anyway.

It was last night, December 30, 2014, when I decided on the name.  Then I went in to panic overdrive over if I should stay with my freebie on WordPress.com or upgrade for just under $100. There is also the option of staying with the free thing and paying for a better template/theme (I’ll go in to more detail on that in a bit). Or, I could really go for the gold and switch to WordPress.org. For this decision, I blew off my actual friends and went to my “peers” on LinkedIn. I made the decision to go cheap for now.  Once one hundred of you are following me (whatever in the hell that means), I will upgrade to something or another. TBD. Stay tuned.

Back to choosing a theme/template.  OMG that was by far the hardest for me. It gave me a headache that could only be cured with peppermint and wine.  I started by looking at other blogs and crying because I couldn’t figure out how they did that with their awesome banners and pretty fonts (I’m writing that with my bitchy-whiny voice in my head).  I hate them all now, by the way.  I will still read them, but I hate them. Wellburtin may have helped. I wonder if my doctor would accept, “I started a blog,” as a reason to prescribe me Wellbutrin.

Now, if you know me, you know I LOVE WINE! I really do. (Stay with me, it will call come together soon). Until I learned about wine for real, I used to choose wine based on which bottles had the cutest labels (ok, sometimes I still do that). Anyway, that was my first approach to a template – I went with the ones with the most compelling names, and that was stupid. STUPID. First, the ones with cool names were ugly – or dumb – or whatever.  Then I just started getting overwhelmed.  Let me give you some examples of template names:

  • Swell – Who still says that? Plus, it was $75. No thanks.
  • Plane – I am not a pilot. Nope.
  • Together – It was not entirely awful. I may switch to that one later.
  • Capoverso – Is that even a real word? WTH? Moving on …..
  • Beacon – Like my blog is supposed to be a beacon of light or something? Too much pressure.
  • Blogly – Please. I wouldn’t use a template with a stupid name like that even if it was free. It was $75.
  • Editor – Too much pressure. I used to be a reporter. Sorry, no.
  • Intergalactic – I’ll leave that one for the nerds.
  • Twenty Eleven – Maybe four years ago. Or not.
  • Illustratr – Why would anyone choose one that is misspelled? Idiots.
  • Wu Wei – What? I need wine. Next!
  • Moka – Ok, I don’t know what the hell that is or means, but the layout was cool. It was a close second, but it cost $18.
  • The list could go on and on.

Come to think of it. Those friends who encouraged me to start this blog may have just been doing it in hopes it would shut me up at Zumba class.  Well, too bad, biotches! I expect each and every one of you to read every post.  In fact, I will require surprise on-the-spot reviews, and I will grade them! Ok, I won’t actually grade them, but I will give feedback about your feedback. BUCKLE UP!

So, here we are with what I chose.  Hopefully, by the time I publish this, there will be an awesome original drawing by my 12-year-old, Callie, in the top left.  I want to stress that she just turned twelve last month.  Look at the drawing and be impressed.  It’s ok to gush over it because it’s not your own kid. It cost me three new Copic Markers (some fancy drawing stuff) to get her to do it. Hopefully, she will draw me a series that I will rotate on a very irregular basis. Yes, she drew red wine in a white wine glass, but let me remind you all that SHE’S TWELVE! I’m glad she doesn’t know the difference.

While we were at Michaels (or was it Hobby Lobby?) buying her markers, I bought myself the adorably awesome wine glass in the picture you see at the top. Don’t you love how it matches my outfit? And my eyes? I am drinking out of it right now. BLISS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here’s a few more things you can expect from me and my blog (and remember that I expect YOU to read it religiously):

  • It’s not for kids or the faint of heart. I’m going to curse and talk a lot about wine (hence, the title). It’s PG13.
  • When I’m on my game, I will post on Wednesdays.
  • When I’m not on my game, I will miss a few posts.
  • I may use Guest Bloggers (even when I’m on my game).
  • When I’m on a roll, I will post more.
  • Some of you may “recognize” yourself in some of my posts.  If you’re offended, then it totally was not you. If you’re flattered, get over yourself!
  • Apparently, I can add “pages” to this blog. They are different from regular posts. I will figure those out eventually.
  • I hope to make everyone laugh often and think occasionally.
  • I may rant.
  • I will spellcheck. Get it?
  • Whatever I write, it will come from the heart.

So that’s it for now.  I wish I had a brilliantly funny yet light way of signing off.  Maybe that will come to me one day when I’m doing my hair. That’s when I have my best ideas — but that is a whole nother blog post.

26 comments on “New Year, New Me ……….. Whatever! I’m Blogging!

  1. Lisa Eikey
    December 31, 2014

    I enjoyed your first submission and I look forward to many more! You have always been a very talented writer. Happy New Year

  2. Heide
    December 31, 2014

    Looks like you’re finally off to a good start, best wishes with this blog endeavor. Love the art work.

  3. Traci Rhoades
    December 31, 2014

    I think it’s a great start! Your personality showed up in every paragraph. I look forward to comparing notes 🙂

  4. Tonner
    January 1, 2015

    Awesome! It’s about damn time! 😉

  5. Joelle Casteel
    January 1, 2015

    Love it! My significant other says that technology is allergic to me 😀 “human computer virus” is a wonderful line 🙂 Remember- as I learned with my own blog (which is that of an erotic fiction writing, sex educating woman, so often R or NC17 rated :D), having a blog is a thing of changes as you learn better how to use it 😀

  6. lifeofatravelingnavywife
    January 1, 2015

    Great to find you through the Blog Fun group! Look forward to reading along!

    • julieswinecellar
      January 1, 2015

      Thanks for reading! I’m the wife of a retired Army Officer. He’s National Guard now. I have a couple ideas about writing about my experiences as a military spouse too. I hope you see it when I do!

    • julieswinecellar
      January 1, 2015

      I just checked out your blog too. LOVE IT! I’m following via email now.

  7. Clare
    January 1, 2015

    Love that you started your blog, had to smile when you chose the name you originally started with, after polling people ( I do that often myself) and Callie is very talented and you are a nice Mom buying her Copics! Happy New Year! Looking forward to your future blogs

  8. Kathy
    January 1, 2015

    Bravo! Congrats on starting your blog. You are are a wordsmith. ( Pun intended ) looking forward to future posts. l apologize in advance, I will incorrectly use grammar and probably use run on sentences and make you cringe at my appalling writing. Thank sweet baby Jesus for spell check! Callie’s art work is fantastic. The layout is perfect. Is it just my eyes or is it snowing on this page? cute. Cheers to you!

    • julieswinecellar
      January 1, 2015

      Kathy, i’d love to say that it’s just you to mess with you. However, it’s some snow effect. 😉

  9. Laurie @ Stylin' Savanna
    January 2, 2015

    Welcome to the Blog World!!!! It’s happy here;) I enjoyed your first post. You seem genuine and real! I love that!

  10. Jessyka
    January 2, 2015

    Omg! Haha! Wellbutrin is a lifesaver. I think a blog and all the anxiety that comes with it is definitely cause for a prescription. haha!

  11. Justine Y
    January 2, 2015

    Agreed, setting up and maintaining a blog IS a lot of work, even though the masses of people that have them would lead you to believe otherwise! 🙂 Good luck on your new venture!

  12. Katie Best
    January 2, 2015

    This was exactly how I felt when decided on the theme for my blog.. I changed it six times before sticking to one.

  13. Jess
    January 2, 2015

    Welcome! I definitely hemmed and hawed a lot to start too. Then I waited a year and a half before I actually wrote anything! I think you’re doing great 🙂

  14. Pamela
    January 3, 2015

    Great job and good luck! I jumped right in when I made the decision to blog. I don’t know if that was wise, but I’ve learned a lot in the past year. Hopefully, I’ll get it right someday! 🙂

  15. mariet@practicingnormal.com
    January 3, 2015

    The only way to learn to swim is not to drown. I’ve decided to start blogging in September, got everything set up in October and are not trying not to drown. Here’s to drinking lots of wine while we are trying to stay afloat.

  16. Cambria
    January 3, 2015

    This was awesome! And so true! LOL Blogging is definitely not as easy easy as people may say. Great job on your first post!

  17. Christine
    January 3, 2015

    This was cute! I like your input. My blog took about a week to start, all my ideas but could not…for.the.life.of.me do all of this computer-y stuff on my own. Your post definitely made me smile! Thanks

  18. AdiC
    January 5, 2015

    I like your first post! And yeah… Starting a blog? Difficult times!!

    Looking forward for more from you 🙂

  19. Laurie Trigg
    January 5, 2015

    This made me laugh out loud. I went through the same thing… especially when it came to adding pinterest, facebook & instagram buttons…like WHATTT?!!!
    Thanks for the chuckle and good luck throughout your new blogging endeavor:)

  20. Tina
    January 8, 2015

    Hello! I found your Blog in our FB group “Funny wine labels…
    I am looking forward to following your adventures!

Whatcha Think? Let me know, please!!! Cheers!

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2014 by in General Snarkiness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

A trip down Memory Lane …

Follow Dance, Sing and Drink Wine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 1,209 other followers

Top Clicks - C'mon, You Know You Want To!

  • None

Follow Me on Blog Lovin’ – Where the Cool Kids Are!

Dance, Sing and Drink Wine

Categories and Themes of Julie’s Little World

Best Wine Ever! Order it Here!

