Dance, Sing and Drink Wine

Daily Necessities of Life – and Coffee Helps Too

My Grocery Cart Runneth Over

images (1)That very well could be my cart any time I run to the grocery store for “just a couple things.” I am so that woman: The one who walks in with a list of five or less items and always grabs the small cart to keep myself in check but always ends of purchasing at least thirty-five items plus three gallons of milk anyway. The one who does the balancing/juggling thing trying to keep things from falling out of her cart while trying to appear like everything is totally cool and she’s got a firm hold of everything.

There are a lot of us. We look like clumsy fools who are trying to kid ourselves that we can stick to our list.
It’s not that I am a shop-o-holic, you see. I have three kids. They eat a lot, so I buy a lot. A shit-ton to be exact.

Yeah, yeah. I am well aware that there are many families with four, five, six or seven kids. Hell, some families just keep pumping them out in hopes of a reality show. They’re idiots. That’s not my point.
My point is, once you get to a certain number of kids, you’ll never – EVER – be able to get just a “couple things” at the store.

Yes, you can walk in determined with a list, but then you see that:
This is on sale OR –
This kid has been asking for that for a few weeks OR –
Another kid needs to take a snack in to class OR –
The oldest needs to make a class donation for homeroom OR –
They all have another effing class (fake) holiday party – you know, like Valentine’s Day.

WTF! IT NEVER ENDS!

And don’t even get me started on buying stuff for their lunches. My kids are “those” kids. The ones that will never – NEVER EVER – throw their Mom a bone and buy a school lunch just once in a very long while. And they all have selective, discriminating tastes.

So, my grocery cart runneth over with three kinds of bread, a lactose free version of everything (ok, that’s not really her fault – she was born that way), veggies for one, fruits for another and Lunchables for the third (how is a Lunchable better than school food anyway?). One loves Twinkies (she’s a super skinny dancer, so who cares?) but only the original kind. Do NOT try to sneak in the bargain generic kind or the banana filled kind – she will die. The baby hates Twinkies and both of them hate bagels, but the oldest loves them.

This is why I always have wine in my grocery cart. More wine than everyone else in the entire damn store combined at any given time, I imagine.

I have a chart to keep it all straight in case I die suddenly and my husband has to take over- God help them.

Sometimes I screw up and mix up their lunches or give three drinks to one kid and the other two DIE OF THIRST – never mind that they do have a lunch account and very well can buy themselves a milk (the middle schooler can buy a wide variety of beverages, by the frickin’ way).

Yes, they could make their own lunches. The oldest would probably pack herself a well-balanced lunch. The skinny – I can eat anything – kid would probably pack herself ramen and Twinkies every day and then not eat it because she’s never hungry. I swear the only reason I pack her a lunch is I am afraid someone would turn me in to the state if I didn’t. The little one would go with PB&J on graham crackers with chocolate Teddy Grams and M&Ms. And can you imagine the mess they’d leave in the kitchen? I’d rather clean the toilets at a biker bar.

It’s exhausting, so sometimes I ask so, so nicely and sweetly for them to buy their lunch the next day.

Seriously. How bad can this slop be? The corn doesn't look too bad. There's a cookie!

Seriously. How bad can this slop be? The corn doesn’t look too bad.

“YOU’RE TRYING TO KILL US,” they shriek in unison.

“But I’m so tired,” I plead.

“IT’S SO DISGUSTING THAT IT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL,” they chant.

“C’mon guys. Take one for the team.”

“YOU DON’T LOVE US ANYMORE!!!”

I believe it would be less painful to get them to eat White Castle than a school lunch. You should have seen the time I tried to get the girls to eat that – the HORROR! Their brother was an infant, so he was spared the cruelty. The reaction of the girls to their very first bite was worthy of an Academy Award. Watch out Reese and Jennifer and all you all – here comes the Smith Sisters!

But that’s a whole ‘nother blog post.

13 comments on “My Grocery Cart Runneth Over

  1. Traci@tracesoffaith
    February 7, 2015

    There are times I think my life with an only child is a simple one 🙂 She doesn’t even know “picky” is an option because she doesn’t see it in action. Well, until we sent her off to public school! Full of humor Julie. Your refrigerator would be fun to raid.

  2. Jessica
    February 7, 2015

    I truly enjoying reading these!!

  3. Yay or Nay Interiors
    February 10, 2015

    Oh gosh I love your posts! I think I need to spend nice evening reading all that! you really make me laugh!!

    All best,Anna
    http://www.yayinteriors.co.uk

  4. Miranda
    February 17, 2015

    I have such a bad habit of going ‘snack crazy’ at the grocery store and then I don’t want to eat any of the actual ingredients for meals that I bought. It’s so hard to make it out without a bag of chips…

  5. Abby
    February 17, 2015

    I’m married to the male, grown-up version of your picky eating girls. The only bright spot is that he packs his own lunches and allows me to vent my frustration about his picky habits.

  6. Angie Nelson
    February 17, 2015

    I can relate. And I totally wish someone would bring me a school lunch most days. 😉

  7. Amanda Made
    February 17, 2015

    Ohhh jeeze, I will try to not get a cart so I don’t end up with too many items! However I end up like that idiot with items falling out of my hands constantly as I walk through the store creating a tower! School lines are so gross and it seems like the only vegetable they every really serve is corn, which is not really that healthy anyways! Way to be a great mother! Thanks for sharing!

  8. earlleighdesigns
    February 17, 2015

    Haha! I only have one kiddo and she’s picky enough. I couldn’t imagine multiple opinions!

  9. Jeanatte
    February 17, 2015

    Trips to the store for me are the same. Someone always needs something and we’re always out of something. My kids do pack their own lunches and surprisingly, its not all junk. Also, it gets complicated in my household because my oldest children eat meat still while my youngest is a vegetarian. Having to make sure we have enough for everyone can make things slightly complicated. The school lunches they serve are great and my kids will either buy a lunch if they’re out of something and forgot to tell me OR they’ve been good/good grades. My youngest is a fan of the salad bar at the school, so she likes to tell me she’s always good.

  10. Vicky
    February 17, 2015

    This is hysterical, but so sorry to be chuckling at your grocery cart juggling act! I don’t have kids, but I’ve also been guilty of the “I’ll just grab a basket because I only need a few things..” then end up balancing things on every available limb while doing the ‘yeah, I meant to do this…’ look intact. I can’t imagine tossing in a few kids to the mix!! Love your posts! 🙂

  11. Nina
    February 18, 2015

    I’m definitely one of those people with the overflowing cart when I just ran in for one item. But I only have one toddler, so I don’t think I can blame it on him just yet. We’ll blame it on pregnancy cravings 😉

    Definitely not looking forward to school lunches after reading this. I was that picky kid when I was little though, so it’s probably my karma to deal with that as a parent.

  12. Jenn
    March 23, 2015

    I have no idea how you successfully shop for a family with three kids without two full sized carts on every trip! LOL We have one and sometimes have that overflow problem. Thanks for sharing on the Monday Mash-Up! Love your background, btw.

Whatcha Think? Let me know, please!!! Cheers!

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2015 by in Parenting, Parenting Challenges, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .

A trip down Memory Lane …

Follow Dance, Sing and Drink Wine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 1,209 other followers

Top Clicks - C'mon, You Know You Want To!

  • None

Follow Me on Blog Lovin’ – Where the Cool Kids Are!

Dance, Sing and Drink Wine

Categories and Themes of Julie’s Little World

Best Wine Ever! Order it Here!

