Dance, Sing and Drink Wine

Daily Necessities of Life – and Coffee Helps Too

Saving the Planet One K-Cup At At Time!

I’ve never been a morning person. Never ever. Never.

Once I became a Mom, mornings got easier for a bit because my first two kids weren’t really morning people either. We slept in nearly every morning. It was MARVELOUS! My morning wake up time coffee was really just for the pleasure of the flavor. The caffeine really wasn’t even necessary. And because Keurigs and other similar coffee machines weren’t even on the market yet, my coffee filter was hardly an afterthought in the whole “save the earth” arena. 

But then my girls started school and we had to get up early five days a week. It was ok though, because we still had weekends as they hadn’t started soccer yet and summers to sleep in. Coffee became a necessity on school days, but it wasn’t killing me. Yet.

It becomes a way of life pretty easily. And that's a good thing!

It becomes a way of life pretty easily. And that’s a good thing!

Then all three of us became Girl Scouts. You know, the troops of girls out to save the planet. My oldest was a Daisy, I was the troop leader and my younger daughter was the troop mascot. Suddenly, we became recycling experts. It took over part of our kitchen, our garage and over lives all at once. 

The following fall, my son was born, and he WAS a morning person. Seven years later and he still wakes up at the crack of “too damn early” every single day. 

Yes. Yes I do look this good when I am this tired. It's true.

Yes. Yes I do look this good when I am this tired. It’s true.

Add to that the late nights of two middle schooler’s and a second grader with homework, dance classes, soccer practices, choir rehearsals, ski club, football games and so much more, and I now drink a shit ton of coffee every day. Every. Day. 

Here’s the kicker: Did you know that in 2014 alone, 9 Billion K-Cups were thrown in landfills? In fact, there are enough non-recyclable K-Cups sitting in landfills right now to circle the earth 14 TIMES!

What? I might be staying awake, but I’m killing the planet? Not cool, Robert Frost! 

There's too many pieces and steps and possibilities of spilling coffee grounds in the morning. I can't do this while trying to wake up!!!

There’s too many pieces and steps and possibilities of spilling coffee grounds in the morning. I can’t do this while trying to wake up!!!

I’ve used a lot of the refillable K-Cups – you know, the kind where you put your own coffee in them and then brew? They’re cool, but they can get messy in the early mornings.

That’s why I was drawn to the totally recyclable K-Cups by Nature Cups. The company is proud to pioneer the recyclable single-serve cup movement…and they’ve done it WITHOUT cutting corners, or (and this one is important to me too) taking business overseas.

Good Morning, Sunshine!

Good Morning, Sunshine!

All you have to do is simply remove the top filter from the cups, put the grounds in to your compost bin and recycle the cup! 

I do have to admit, though, that my husband and I were not entirely thrilled with the flavor. It started bitter (even with creamer) and ended flat. It also left him with a touch of heartburn (but that might have just been his excuse to get out of church). However, our oldest (now 13 and quite the coffee connoisseur) LOVE IT! 

 

 

 

 

And, I have to LOVE the name of the blend that Nature Cups gave me to try: Wakey Wakey!

So, I will continue to purchase them for her, and hope that she drinks enough in her lifetime to balance all the landfills I contribute too. Honestly, I am so drawn to the idea of using a more Earth Friendly product that I will wait and see if they come out with other flavors.

Dear Nature Cups: Please come up with a Columbian Blend, and I’ll be your girl!!!!

 

3dd190070df18c4273c7e117aa7252207632e786

Thanks to Nature Cups for sponsoring this post!

Whatcha Think? Let me know, please!!! Cheers!

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2015 by in Food and Drink, Mom Problems, Sponsored and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

A trip down Memory Lane …

Follow Dance, Sing and Drink Wine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 1,209 other followers

Top Clicks - C'mon, You Know You Want To!

  • None

Follow Me on Blog Lovin’ – Where the Cool Kids Are!

Dance, Sing and Drink Wine

Categories and Themes of Julie’s Little World

Best Wine Ever! Order it Here!

